top of page

Copper Tears – NOW Available!

ART – JSS Copper Tears Cover.jpeg

John Scott Sherrill Releases New EP, Copper Tears


John Scott Sherrill is not one to sit quietly by, even  during a worldwide pandemic.  The hit songwriter returns on August 20 with a new EP, Copper Tears.


A keen observer, Sherrill has spent the past couple of years watching the changes all around him, including divisions stemming from politics, COVID-19 isolation and over-development.  His response is a collection of songs that address what he (and the rest of us) have been experiencing.


Songs on the EP, produced by Sherrill with Ronnie Bowman and Scott Paschall, include a call for unity (“You Are Still Great”), a plea for humanity (“Copper Tears”), a reflection on the loss of the family farm (“Five Generations of Rock County Wilsons”) and historic sites (“Boomtown”), the longing of separation (“Far Away Angel”) and the passing of  time (“Shot From A Cannon”). 


Copper Tears features the same acoustic instrumentation and country charm as his 2018 acclaimed release, Mr. Honky Tonk.  The songs deliver Sherrill's trademark clear-eyed lyrics and memorable melodies.


Over the years, Sherrill has written 11 #1 hits and countless covers for the likes of Patty Loveless, John Anderson, Josh Turner, Peter Wolf & Mick Jagger, Steve Wariner, Brooks & Dunn, George Strait, Jimmy Buffett, and Alison Krauss, among others. His co-writes include such legends as Michael McDonald, Steve Cropper, Peter Frampton and Dave Loggins.


Top shelf musicians enlisted for the project include Rod McCormack (guitars), Josh Matheny (dobro), Dave Pomeroy (bass), Michael Spriggs (acoustic guitar), Eddie Bayers (drums) and Patrick McAvinue (fiddle).

bottom of page